2001 honors to lighthouse committee

Tuesday, January 2, 2001

For that reason the Gateway lighthouse committee, spearheaded by Dick Hakes, has been selected as the 2001 Citizens of the Year by the Pilot-Tribune editorial board. But that honor is not theirs alone - it also belongs to the 365 people who donated through monetary contributions and in-kind donations of materials and services.

With the completion of the Highway 71 bypass in 1996, the need arose for some sort of welcome sign so that people would not "lose their way to Storm Lake."

"It seemed like Storm Lake needed an icon and it was driven by... the new bypass," said Roger Christiansen of Commercial Sign and Design.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: