[Masthead] Overcast ~ 45°F  
High: 54°F ~ Low: 43°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

G-H players head Class A all-district football list

Thursday, November 9, 2000

The first team offense includes ends Dustin Thompson of Pomeroy-Palmer, Trent Jensen and Justin Still of River Valley, and Tim DeBoer of Remsen-Union; linemen Travis Flink of Alta, Jason Meusburger of Schaller-Crestland, Jesse Staab of Remsen-Union, Greg Mayton of Pomeroy-Palmer and Zane Forbes of River Valley; quarterbacks Adam Wellington of Sac City, Shawn Parker of Remsen-Union and Kellen Ludvigson of River Valley; running backs Kelly Rydberg of Schaller-Crestland, Kevin Krausman and Alex Poppen of Pomeroy-Palmer, John Witt of Newell-Fonda and Jon Nielsen of Alta; and kicker Ludvigson.

The first team defense included linemen Nick Loots of Pomeroy-Palmer, Kyle Doonan and Brandon Kies of Newell-Fonda, Dustin Sharkey of Sac City and Karl Pittman of Kingsley-Pierson, linebackers Zach Scherb of River Valley, Wade Brower of Newell-Fonda, Nate Wiese of Alta, Matt Reimers of Schaller-Crestland and Jay Eichelberger of Pomeroy-Palmer; defensive backs Josh Droegmiller of Alta and Tim Susie of Kingsley-Pierson; and punter Ludvigson.

Pomeroy-Palmer's Larry Swingen and Brad Knight of Galva-Holstein were named coaches of the year.

Area players selected to the second team offense were Corey Carlton and Matt Ites of Newell-Fonda, Aaron Wendel of Galva-Holstein and Cody Rininger of Schaller-Crestland. The second team defense included Blake Huseman and Ryan Schultze of Alta, Wes Turnquist of Schaller-Crestland and Gavin Hanson of Galva-Holstein.

8-man all-district team

Sioux Central, which finished its inaugural season of 8-man football undefeated, placed four players on the all-district team.

Senior Jason Brown was named on offense, while seniors Jeff Madsen and Cody Tibbetts, and junior Josh Carlson were named on defense. Brown was chosen as an end, Madsen a linebacker, Tibbetts a defensive back and Carlson as a lineman.

Aurelia's Greg Ohlsen was selected to the team as an offensive lineman, while Heath Brecher was chosen as a linebacker on defense.

Joining them on the first team were quarterback Gary Brons of Harris-Lake Park; running backs Kellen Madison of Sentral and Jesse Galles of Remsen St. Mary's; and linemen Kasey Nerem of Sentral, Matt Kline of Remsen St. Mary's, Dan Studer of Okoboji and Nate Eich of Whiting; end Tyler Brady of Harris-Lake Park.

Selected to the first team defense were linebacker Tanner Ulmer of Charter Oak-Ute; defensive back Bryon Cooper of Whiting; and linemen Kyle Kline of Okoboji and Buzz Burnett of Sentral.

Area players selected to the second team were quarterback Kasey Reilly of Aurelia, running back Tyler Lindquist of Sioux Central, offensive linemen Chris Axdahl of Sioux Central and Clint Corderman of Aurelia, defensive back Tim Jones of Aurelia and defensive lineman Nate Witmaack of Sioux Central.

Bobby Donahoo and Eric Sonksen of Aurelia, and Tim White and Jesse Yoes of Sioux Central were named honorable mention.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: